Be kind. My experience of kindness

Hi everybody,

 

I would like to share something with you, that impressed me a lot lately.

Of course we all know, that kindness doesn’t cost a thing and that it is a wonderful thing to be kind and to receive kindness.

It makes you feel so much better. Especially when you give. Being kind really doesn’t cost a thing. I personally try to be kind and do “random acts of kindness” at least once a day. It doesn’t always happen but even if its something small or a compliment etc. – it will improve someones day and I really like doing it!

Definitely try to choose kindness consciously for yourself. It will automatically come back to you somehow.

And today I would like to write about exactly this. When kindness comes back to you and you are the receiver rather than the giver.

It is so normal and “standard” for me to be kind to people without expecting anything back, that it always blows me away, when I receive some random act of kindness in return.

It doesn’t matter how small it is, I’m always so genuinely happy and grateful about the smallest acts of kindness.

Recently I was in Germany for holidays and experienced a lot of kindness over there. I never thought that Germans are as friendly and kind but I definitely changed my mind after my experience. Maybe this was down due the area etc., i really don’t know. But it was great.

It was the day when i was leaving Germany again. I had to get up really early (around 6.00 AM) to catch my bus (1,5hrs aka 170KM to the airport). I had everything booked and organised.

When I was at the bus-stop, it turned out that the bus had 2 hours delay, which meant i would never make it in time to the airport. Everything was planned and organised so it would line up perfectly. However, I did not plan the bus delay.

So I went to the train station nearby and asked the lovely lady at the Information-stand if she could help me and tell me which train or other bus would be leaving soon. She named me a few, but even though it was the fastest option, they still would have not arrived in time, in fact, after my flight was due.

I started to freak out a little at this stage. When i tried to postpone my flight, it was also not possible, since it was less than 3 hours to my flight now.

I was getting stressed more and more and really close to freaking out. The lovely lady remained really calm and tried to help me as much as she could. This was so nice of her and first awesome experience of the day.

Then I ran up to a car rental place (my last chance really). Turns out they had a car available and all seemed ok-ish, so I went ahead and booked it. However, suddenly my bank decided to security-block my card and I couldn’t pay. With time getting less and less now, I once again started to freak out because I also couldn’t go through the bank-phone-line which meant i was completely stuck. I couldn’t pay.

The guy who was handling my car- rental, also remained extremely calm, tried to calm me down and with his presence being very relaxed and nice in general, it genuinely helped me to not lose the plot completely.

Eventually i got everything sorted which meant i had to drive 170km in preferably less than 1.5 hours to still make it.

Being under a lot of stress and time pressure at this stage, i drove all the way very very fast (average 150km/h) which meant that I actually did some good time. I started to relax a little again but then i got caught in a traffic jam due an accident.

After 20 very long and painful minutes later, I was able to drive on again. You might can imagine how freaked out I was at this stage due the time delay.

I also took the wrong entrance-turn to the airport, so more stress and pressure. When i eventually found the drop off area for the rental-car, I had to queue in front of a parking gate. Twist plot: there was 5 more cars queued right in front of me.

Besides the fact that i still had to go through the security check and was really late now (20 minutes left til the flight!!!), i actually lost it.

I was queuing behind the cars and couldn’t believe that I actually made it that far. Just for the other people in front of me holding me up to drop the rental car and run in. I was sitting in the car and for the first time ever, loosing it completely. This included me looking up praying for some miracle, hammering down on the steering wheel and just screaming my frustration of.

Now, this leads me up to the 3rd and probably kindest person of the day.

A guy who was in front of me in his car, must have seen me freaking out. Because he stepped out of his car (which made me stop immediately to not look ridiculous of course), but it was already too late, he saw me freaking out!

He walked up to my window and started to talk to me. He told me to take a deep breath, just calm down a bit and that everything is going to be okay. He genuinely looked worried about me and tried to help me as best as he could.

And this really blew me away!! I was so shocked of him being so genuinely concerned about me (a complete stranger!) that i  stopped freaking out.

A 2nd guy then helped me as well to skip the queue so I can drop of the car faster!!!!! How nice was that?????????????

On top of it, some nice people in the security-check-queue let me also skip the queue and believe it or not, i just about made the flight!!

Only afterwards I started to reflect on all those nice and kind people and I wish i would have the chance to genuinely thank them for that.

This helped me to not completly go crazy and remain somewhat okay whilst being under so much stress and time pressure.

Isnt it amaizng how much an act of kindness can influence and help a person?

To wrap this story of:

Always remember to be kind. It really doesn’t cost a thing and can help someone SO MUCH. You will never know. And also: somehow the Universe will return the kindness and help you out as well. Its a win-win for everybody!! 🙂

 

I most certainly will always do my best to be kind and helfpul. Still amazed!

 

Til later my friends!

 

Leave a Reply

