Meeting David Duchovny in Glasgow

In relation to my blog and its purpose (to go for it in life!), I would like to write about my experience in Glasgow in May 2016 when I was able to meet –the one and only– David Duchovny.

So….funnily enough it all started out with the law of attraction in November 2015. I remember this very well because this just left me stunned. As the LOA always does.

Without even knowing that David Duchovny is also singing (and with an album out at this stage), I was randomly thinking about how cool it would be to get to meet him! Just to say “thank you” in person. I always felt that way towards artists and I actually have some kind of list of actors, artists or musicians that I would like to meet, just to tell them how grateful I am for their art and how it affected me in my life. I know that sounds strange, but I always felt that way.

Anyway, so I was thinking away how cool it would be to meet David Duchovny.

And I kid you not, a day after, I heard about his upcoming first European tour to introduce his new album Hell or Highwater. I couldn’t believe it. I was just thinking about him a day beforehand and how cool it would be to meet him in real life and then this happens! 🙂

Of course I didn’t attract a full planned European tour overnight, I’m aware of that. That was already planned for ages. But I wasn’t following any of David Duchovny’s Social Media accounts so this was kinda cool to hear –out of the blue- about his upcoming tour!

I just couldn’t believe it!

First, I checked out his album because I was skeptical. To my surprise, it is pretty good and I like it a lot!

The excitement level went up a good bit!!! Seeing David Duchovny LIVE? I couldn’t believe it.

BUT. It gets better.

Second, it turns out that he was also offering Meet & Greets! CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? I still can’t haha.

So not only was I able to go and see David Duchovny in Glasgow live…there was also the possibility to have a Meet & Greet with him!

I just couldn’t let this opportunity go, so I bought my ticket straight away. I still remember all the excitement and how I couldn’t believe that one of my dreams came true!! I WAS GOING TO MEET DAVID DUCHOVNY. I was so excited! And still get excited by typing this.

Now, this was back in November 2015.

So, after my shitty turn of circumstances aka the break-up in early 2016, I wasn’t really looking forward to much at all (Read here about it)

However, I knew I had to stay focused and either completely distract myself and deal with the feelings later or just deal with it and focus on the good things to come. Eventually I chose option 2. After my first mini-trip to London (and feeling significantly better after it), I was actually looking forward to early May to meet the man himself. Read here about London

After London, I kept my head down, dealt with my feelings, met friends who supported me, worked my ass off and focused on “the light at the end of the tunnel”. In-between I tried to have some mini-adventures or events like this one, to stay on track and be able to live from one Point to the next.

This shouldn’t be the way of how you live your life in general but when you are feeling so bad, depressed, and sad, this will help you to slowly but surely pull out of it. It really does depend on you and the circumstances you surround yourself with.

Anyway.

So there it was. May.

I flew to Glasgow for less than 3 days. I was on a budget but it worked out beautifully. The weather was nice. I met random and very nice people. I had a fantastic time!

And the best of it all: YES I met David Duchovny.

Now…I could write so much more about all the details and how awesome it was. How nervous I was and so on. But this post is already longer than I thought it would be so I just leave you with this:

It was like a dream come true!

It was a fantastic experience and I enjoyed every minute of it. It helped me to pull through, and for the probably first time after months of feeling depressed, I felt better. I was able to stay more positive…and feel it. I was able to remember why it is worth doing what I did. Keep fighting with my inner demons and thoughts. I not only saw “the light at the end of the tunnel” but I also started to feel it. And this is so important when you feel down.

Life finally started to get better.

 

More on that later.

 

 

 

1 thought on “Meeting David Duchovny in Glasgow”

Leave a Reply

