London calling!

Isn’t it funny how your perspective on things changes, once the circumstances in your life change?

This is something that I learned last year (April), when I had to actually leave the house (except for work, this was a big enough task at that time).

I referred to it in my previous blog post already.

I went through a very tough and dark phase after a break up and spent about 2 months just staying at home trying to nurse myself back to a normal state of mind. In between there was a lot of crying and dark thoughts.

Depending on the relationship and how far involved you are, it can be pretty devastating once it comes to an end. I just couldn’t let go and had all sorts of bad thoughts about myself.

I blamed myself for everything, I was looking for what I did wrong and what I could have done better. I went through so many weird stages (well my thoughts did) and its not easy to admit this but I think its good to share this in case you are/were in a similar situation.
I personally would have LOVED if someone wrote about it, because at that time, I felt so alone. Like nobody would understand that kind of feeling that I went through.

This was the worst. I thought nobody would understand my pain.

Now, this sounds quiet depressing, but don’t you worry, it gets better now.

I just want to give you some insight, so this makes more sense for you.

Now: I felt shitty, depressed and not good at all.

But there was that trip that I had booked already! It was a trip to London!

One of my best friends and his girlfriend had to go to London for work, so I said: why not meeting up there? I live in Ireland and my friend in middle Europe.

This was an easy enough trip for me and I could do with a friendly face or two.

I remember being in London before, but back then, I didn’t like it at all.

This brings me to my first sentence in this blog.

Isn’t it funny how your perspective on things changes, once the circumstances in your life change?

When I went to London for the very first time, I was still single. I wasn’t in a good mood back then and I remember not really wanting to be there (but I went over for a concert, so that was nice!).

I nearly hated it and cant even remember why exactly. I was simply not in a good mood/place at that time.

But then I went over again to see one of my best friends. I haven’t seen him for quiet a while so I got really excited. And because of the fact that I got so excited after 2 months feeling dead inside, I got even more excited!

There I was now. In London!

I must admit: we had a fantastic time. It was only for 2 days but besides spending some quality time together and talking about our problems in life, I also quiet enjoyed London itself!

My friend is a London fan, so he might just got me into it through his enthusiasm and excitement. But this was perfect! Exactly what I needed.

Since then, I see London with different eyes. I quiet enjoyed it and was surprised HOW MUCH I enjoyed it. I actually cant wait to be back at some stage, because my view on London changed. To the better.

And what changed?

Circumstances and people around me.

Isn’t this amazing? Something so simple can drastically improve your experience or life itself!

This was not the first time that my outlook on a city/country/situation changed last year through that change of circumstances.

But that will be written down another time.

So my conclusion:

If you experience something “negative” and think: I really don’t like this. I don’t enjoy it. Its shit!

Think about this: Are you in a bad place yourself at the moment? Are you having negative people around you? Did you try look at it from a neutral/positive point of view?

Always make sure you are not surrendered by negative people before judging a situation!

This shall be enough for today, thank you for reading everything!

2 thoughts on “London calling!”

Leave a Reply

